Skills You Need To Cultivate To Reach The Top 1%

I never knew what skill to learn in order to elevate my career and make money.

I learned the skills that I thought would benefit me and what interested me.

And that led to nowhere.

Here are the skills I chose to pursue:

  • Cybersecurity

  • Stock Investing

  • Crypto Trading

  • Novel Writing

  • Web Development

And I didn’t make a dime out of these skills because I didn’t know how to monetize them.

I loved programming and building web applications. I always thought that a good product would sell on its own. (well that’s stupid)

95% of people fall into the same trap I fell into. You don’t know about the primary evergreen skills that you need to be successful irrespective of the career you choose.

Here’s why 99% of people fail in their businesses and stay stagnant in their careers:

Deviating From The “Meta”

Bob is an expert in AI. He is preparing for a job in a big AI startup.

When he attends the interview, his resume speaks a lot about his expertise and can help him get the job.

But he doesn’t have the communication skills that are needed to pass the interview.

He lacks a meta-skill that’s needed for him to get the job.

Let’s take another example:

Miles is an expert in video editing. He wants to reach out to big creators showcasing his expertise and hopefully get hired by them as a video editor.

He sends out cold emails to all creators he can get his hands on.

He was expecting a reply from them but: crickets. 

He couldn’t write a persuasive email that could convince people to hire him.

He lacks a meta-skill that’s needed for him to get the job.

Where am I going with this?

How much ever expertise you have in a particular skill, you won’t be able to make money from it if you’re not skilled in the meta-skills of human nature.

The Skills Of The Top 1%: Meta Skills

What is a Meta-Skill?

A meta-skill is a "super skill," that enables individuals to acquire, develop, and adapt other skills more effectively.

Instead of being a specific technical or domain-specific skill, a meta-skill is a higher-order ability that enhances a person's capacity to learn, manage information, solve problems, and navigate new challenges.

There are many meta-skills that you can master but here are the 4 crucial ones:

  • Sales

  • Writing

  • Speaking

  • Marketing

How do each of these skills can be crucial for your growth in business and self?

These 4 skills are enough to see significant growth in your career and if these are paired with your own interest or domain of expertise, then you’ll be unstoppable.

How do you start learning these skills?

I’ve shared the “Roadmap To Mastery” in my other copy:

Here I discuss the step-by-step process I take to master any skill or any domain of interest of mine.

That’s it for today.

Until next time.

- Nithish

Reply

or to participate.